LP with download code for bonus material. Re-mastered by Bob Weston and featuring new liner notes by Robert Christgau, Icky Mettle will come with bonus material (packaged as a second disc with CD, digitally with the LP) including the entire Archers of Loaf vs. The Greatest of All Time EP as well as singles and b-sides from the Icky Mettle era. Archers of Loaf thrived on subtle contradictions, on purposeful vagaries, on tentative gestures delivered with utmost conviction. They released increasingly adventurous records for five years, and broke up with minimal drama or fanfare. This, the first in a series of planned deluxe reissues from Fire/Merge (US), perfectly captures the energy of the band''s early days, from their slapdash first singles to the scrappy brilliance of Icky Mettle itself to the more honed recordings that followed. Released on the heels of some well-received singles and a buzzed-about performance at the CMJ Music Marathon in New York, Icky Mettle was a hotly anticipated debut. To say it starts on a strong note would be an understatement; opener "Web in Front" is quite simply among the finest indie rock songs ever written. That a song whose lyrics are all but impossible to parse literally comes off as so immediate and relatable speaks both to Bachmann''s skill with words-as-sounds, and to his bandmates'' ability to put force and nuance behind his voice. Much of the credit here belongs to guitarist Eric Johnson, whose melodic and fluttery guitar parts seem to hammer the very emotional notes that Bachmann''s words intentionally skirt. The second disc compiles the excellent Vs. the Greatest of All Time EP and the early singles that were previously included on the Speed of Cattle compilation. The five songs from Vs. the Greatest of All Time hint at the more spacious and muscular sound that the band would cultivate on their sophomore LP, Vee Vee, while early 7" versions of "Wrong" and "Web in Front" are disjointed and flaccid previews of their album counterparts. Uncertainty has never sounded so much like a rallying cry" Pitchfork Best new Re-issue 9/10 TRACKLISTING: 01. WEB IN FRONT 02. LAST WORD 03. WRONG 04. YOU AND ME 05. MIGHT 06. HATE PASTE 07. FAT 08. PLUMB LINE 09. LEARO, YOU''RE A HOLE 10. SICK FILE 11. TOAST 12. BACKWASH 13. SLOW WORM DISC #2: 01. AUDIOWHORE 02. LOWEST PART IS FREE! 03. FREEZING POINT 04. REVENGE 05. ALL HAIL THE BLACK MARKET 06. WRONG 07. SOUTH CAROLINA 08. WEB IN FRONT 09. BATHROOM 10. TATYANA 11. WHAT DID YOU EXPECT? 12. ETHEL MERMAN 13. QUINN BEAST 14. POWERWALKER

The item was added to the cart
199 SEK
Artist ARCHERS OF LOAF 1 Release date2011-08-22 AvailabilityNot in stock Delivery1 - 3 weeks Item no87292 Product groupVinyl Media2LP Record labelFire 5 GenreAlternative Rock 2157 ConditionNew, unplayed