With an intuitive understanding of melody and dynamics, Nancy Elizabeth brings a refreshingly Northern turn of phrase to her debut album, Battle and Victory. The Lancashire-born singer's down-to-earth songs are brought to life by her warm and unaffected voice. Unpretentious but effortlessly ambitious, Nancy turns the retro, less-is-more aesthetic of the current acoustic revival on its head. Not content with writing and singing all the songs herself, the 23-year-old also plays most of the instruments, including guitar, khim, Indian harmonium, Appalachian dulcimer and bouzouki, amongst many others. Prominently featured is a 22-string Celtic harp, which she first picked up a little over two years ago, after an inspirational chance meeting with a harp player at a Liverpool gallery. Not long afterwards she received a modest award from a music foundation, and within days had spent it all on the perfect instrument, which has become a cornerstone of her performances.


A1 I'm Like The Paper
A2 I Used To Try
A3 Off With Your Axe
A4 The Remote Past
A5 Coriander
A6 8 Brown Legs
A7 Electric
B1 Hey Son
B2 Weakened Bow
B3 What Is Human
B4 Lung
B5 How Can I Stop ?
B6 Battle And Victory

The item was added to the cart
159 SEK
Artist ELIZABETH, NANCY 1 Release date2007-10-15 AvailabilityIn stock Delivery1 - 3 days Item no76813 Product groupVinyl MediaLP Catalogue numberBAY60LP Record labelLeaf 2 GenreExperimental Rock 263 ConditionNew, unplayed