Highly anticipated debut from Boston 8 piece THE YOUNG REPUBLIC. these 8 college kids return with a collection of their work so far. Fusing the classical (Mozart, Beethoven) with the classic (Wilson, Lennon) the band produce their own particular brand of melancholy county-tinged pop. Taking the classic indie sound of LLOYD COLE, CAMERA OBSCURA and early BELLE AND SEBASTIAN, THE YOUNG REPUBLIC add their own wistful, string-laden americana, adding touches of folk, bluegrass, and country along the way. Recorded in classrooms, bedrooms and old churches with assembled friends (including at one point a 20 piece choir!) "12 tales from winter city" charts the beginning stages of this hugely promising band. TRACKLISTING: 01. GIRL IN A TREE 02. MODERN PLAYS 03. EXCUSES TO SEE YOU 04. GIRL FROM THE NORTHERN STATES 05. EVERYBODY LOOKS BETTER IN BLACK AND WHITE (A REFERENCE TO AFILM) 06. SHE''S NOT WAITING HERE THIS TIME 07. SHE COMES AND GOES 08. REAL LOVE (AT THE END) 09. PAPER SHIPS 10. WHEN I SEE YOUR EYES I SWEAR TO GOD THAT WORLDS COLLIDE 11. BLUE SKIES 12. GOODBYE TOWN

The item was added to the cart
199 SEK
Artist THE YOUNG REPUBLIC 1 Release date2008-04-08 AvailabilityNot in stock Delivery1 - 3 weeks Item no79349 Product groupVinyl MediaLP Record labelEnd Of The Road 1 GenreAlternative Pop 2852 ConditionNew, unplayed