John Alexander Ericson''s remarkable new album ‚Songs from the White Sea'' marks the culmination of a number of personal journeys, from his native Sweden via Berlin to London where he now lives and from a background in electronica (THE NORTHERN TERRITORIES), via rock with his brother''s band Alberta Cross, to a very personal blend of songwriting that draws on all these experiences. Taking a distinctly European approach to his craft, which both recalls and updates influences such as P.J.Harvey, Jacques Brel , David Bowie and Brian Eno''s collaborations it''s appropriate that Berlin forms such a major part of the album''s artistic and personal geography Many of the songs were written during his stay in the city where Alex had his studio in Weissensee (from ‚Der Weisse See'' or ‚The White Sea'' - hence the album''s title). The cover art also pays homage in being a photograph of the city taken from the Warschauer Brücke / Warsaw Bridge which also gives Alex''s label ''Warsaw Recordings'' its name. Following his move to London and the composition of songs such as ''Over the Darkness and over the City'' and ''Blinded by Highways'' Alex took the decision to write and produce the album himself in the very different, but still traditionally Rock''n''Roll location of a cottage deep in the isolated Welsh countryside near Porthmadog. Using just a laptop, a mic, a piano and an old Moog synth, the intimacy that these surroundings delivered come through in the ethereal feel of tracks such as ''Midnight Warriors'' which shimmers and tugs at the mind, the heart and the soul. The album already received great reviews from all over the world: The BBC on "Songs from the White Sea": "Quiet may have ceased being the new loud, but this demonstrates that Ericson is a welcome addition to the school of soft, reflective troubadours. It is an album that consistently doesn''t do what you think it''s going to, and frequently delights." BBC Music / Music Week Panel Tracks: 01 Blinded by Highways 02 Always leave them wanting more, Joanna 03 Midnight Warriors 04 Mary Song 05 The Man in White 06 Let it all come 07 The eleventh Hour 08 The Light Machine 09 Through the Devil''s Eyes 10 The World is waiting 11 Over the Darkness and over the City

The item was added to the cart
189 SEK
ArtistERICKSON, JOHN ALEXANER Release date2010-06-03 AvailabilityNot in stock Delivery1 - 3 weeks Item no85194 Product groupCD/DVD MediaCD Record labelMIG GenreSynthpop ConditionNew, unplayed