Van Morrison unveils his 45th studio album, 'Accentuate the Positive', which is now available to pre-orderahead of its release on November 3rd.  This electrifying homage to rock 'n' roll is launched alongside its first single, a new take on the Johnny Kidd classic 'Shakin' All Over'.


Like this year's acclaimed 'Moving On Skiffle', 'Accentuate The Positive' sees Van Morrison returning to one of his childhood passions: this time rock 'n' roll. Growing up in Belfast shortly after World War II, he was immensely inspired by the heady sounds of 20th century blues and rock 'n' roll. Listening to artists such as Fats Domino, Chuck Berry and The Everly Brothers, it wasn't long until Van was intuitively reinterpreting these sounds with his own band in local hometown venues. 


Several decades later, Van Morrison now revisits the genre by reimagining some of his personal favourites for 'Accentuate The Positive', and infusing those timeless songs with an energy that constantly challenges and expands upon its traditions. Van's inimitable voice combined with superb arrangements and highly accomplished brings a fresh zeal to such great songs as The Johnny Burnette Trio's 'Lonesome Train', Johnny Kidd & The Pirates' 'Shakin' All Over' and Big Joe Turner's pioneering rock 'n' roll hit 'Flip, Flop and Fly'.


Contributors to the album include electric guitar from the late Jeff Beck and vocals from Chris Farlowe on 'Lonesome Train', plus guitar from Taj Mahal on 'Lucille' and 'Shake, Rattle and Roll'.




Side 1

1)     You Are My Sunshine

2)     When Will I Be Loved?

3)     Two Hound Dogs

4)     Flip, Flop and Fly

5)     I Want a Roof Over My Head


Side 2

6)     Problems

7)     Hang Up My Rock & Roll Shoes

8)     The Shape I'm In

9)     Accentuate the Positive

10)   Lonesome Train


Side 3

11)   A Shot of Rhythm and Blues

12)   Shakin' All Over

13)   Bye Bye Johnny

14)   Red Sails in the Sunset

15)   Sea of Heartbreak


Side 4

16)   Blueberry Hill???????

17)   Bonaparte's Retreat

18)   Lucille

19)   Shake Rattle and Roll

The item was added to the cart
479 SEK
Artist MORRISON, VAN 17 Release date2023-11-03 AvailabilityIn stock Delivery1 - 3 days Item no65429 Product groupVinyl Media2LP Catalogue number0044003369665 Record labelUniversal 101 Genre60s Beat / Pop / Garage 2299 ConditionNew, unplayed

Related artists