ALLO DARLIN'' is the music of Australian-born, London-based songwriter Elizabeth Morris and runs the spectrum from joyous, breezy, punky, jump-around pop with fabulous harmonies to sparse ukulele and steel guitar heartbreakers. Elizabeth moved to London in 2005 and, inspired to write songs by her purchase of a ukulele from the famous Duke of Uke shop in Brick Lane, began to make music. A little later Elizabeth hooked up with Paul Rains (guitar), Bill Botting (bass) and Michael Collins (drums) and, augmented for one song by Terry Edwards of Tindersticks/Gallon Drunk fame on trumpet and sax, cut a single, "Henry Rollins Don''t Dance", released in Summer 2009 on the cult WeePOP label. Much to their surprise, "Henry Rollins" started getting much airplay in the UK and glowing reviews in places such as the Metro, The Fly and The Guardian, the latter calling it "the best indiepop song for years". Now signed to Fortuna POP!, home of 2009''s biggest indie success story THE PAINS OF BEING PURE AT HEART. The first single "The Polaroid Song" was named by Drowned In Sound as one of the 50 best singles of 2009 while the latest single "Dreaming" was voted Record of the Week by Jarvis Cocker, Peter Hook and DJ Huw Stephens on Steve Lamacq''s BBC 6music Roundtable, beating Kate Nash, The Radio Dept and MGMT. For Fans Of: MAGNETIC FIELDS, CAMERA OBSCURA, HEFNER, KIMYA DAWSON, JENS LEKMAN, THE WAVE PICTURES. www.myspace.com/allodarlin TRACKLISTING: 01. DREAMING 02. THE POLAROID SONG 03. SILVER DOLLARS 04. KISS YOUR LIPS 05. HEARTBEAT CHILLI 06. IF LONELINESS WAS ART 07. WOODY ALLEN 08. LETS GO SWIMMING 09. MY HEART IS A DRUMMER 10. WHAT WILL BE WILL BE

The item was added to the cart
179 SEK
Artist ALLO, DARLING 1 Release date2010-06-11 AvailabilityNot in stock Delivery1 - 3 weeks Item no85165 Product groupVinyl MediaLP Record labelFortuna Pop 14 GenreAlternative Pop 2738 ConditionNew, unplayed