LP - COMUS - FIRST UTTERANCE 180g Clear vinyl

First Utterance is the debut album of the progressive folk band Comus. It was released in 1971, with the opening song "Diana" being released as a single.

The album was notable for its unique blend of progressive rock, folk, psychedelia, with elements of paganism and the macabre. The overall thematic tone of the album is of vulnerable innocence facing abusive power, the songs dealing with violence ("Drip Drip"), rape ("Diana", "Song to Comus"), and insulin shock therapy ("The Prisoner").

References to Comus by other bands and artists include Opeth, citing its lyrics in album and song titles. Experimental outfit Current 93 also covered "Diana" as the opening song on their 1997 LP Horsey.

The cover artwork was drawn in ball point pen by Roger Wootton, lead singer and songwriter of the band. The centerfold artwork was painted by guitarist Glenn Goring.

First Utterance is available as a limited edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on crystal clear vinyl and includes an insert.


1. Diana
2. The Herald
3. Drip Drip
4. Song To Comus
5. The Bite
6. Bitten
7. The Prisoner

Varan lades i varukorgen
349 SEK
Artist COMUS 2 Releasedatum2024-02-23 LagerstatusFinns i lager Leveranstid1 - 3 dagar Art nr76237 VarugruppVinyl FormatLP KatalognummerMOVLPC1937 SkivbolagMusic On Vinyl 110 GenreProgressive/ Progg / Psyche 1635 SkickNy, ospelad

Relaterade artister